What Countries Are Apart Of The Paris Agreement

Posted by | No Tags | Uncategorized | No Comments on What Countries Are Apart Of The Paris Agreement

In 1995, the Parties to the Convention on Climate Change adopted texts with limited impact and did not set binding principles and targets. The Kyoto Protocol, adopted in 1997 and weakened by the non-ratification of the United States and the withdrawal of Canada, Russia, Japan and Australia, sets precise binding targets, including figures for developed countries, without quantifying the commitment of developing countries. The Copenhagen Conference (COP15) recognized the need to limit the rise in temperatures to 2°C above pre-industrial levels and called for increased funding from developed countries. The Kyoto Protocol, a landmark environmental agreement adopted at COP3 in Japan in 1997, is the first time that countries have agreed on country-specific emission reduction targets that are legally mandated. .

No Comments

Comments are closed.